So now we had this gorgeous blue pit bull pup that was a really well behaved pup actually. She wasn't hyper, knew how to sit, wasn't wild in the house, came to her new name, Gypsy, and was crate trained. What more could I have asked for??? A well trained husband would be a wonderful thing to have asked for but I wasn't about to get that either! lol He had no clue how to take care of a pit bull. I didn't either, to be fair, but I at least tried to learn just about everything I could on the breed over the years, met owners and dogs in real life and I had raised hundreds of other breeds of dogs too!
Gypsy was the perfect angel in her crate at night. Would whine when she had to go potty and I would get out of bed (when this old body would let me) or I would poke hubby and he would get up and she would do her thing and right back in the crate she would go! During the day she had accidents but that's expected with a pup... no big deal. She surely wasn't the first pup to pee on my floors and I have wiped it up so many times, that I think I really have done it in my sleep before! LOL
When she was around 5 months old and her baby teeth began falling out I think she decided that she didn't want to be a dog anymore but that she wanted to be a SHARK! I kid you not! This dog ate everything and anything! If you dropped it, it was scarfed up by this sweet lil pup so fast that your head would spin!! I had my hands in her mouth every few minutes trying to figure out what she wasn't supposed to have~~ AGAIN! If she didn't find something on the floor on her own, she would find other things to chew. Hanging clothes over the back of a chair was a big No-no! She would rip the arms right off the shirt or chew a zipper right off your winter jacket! Hats were fair game too. If you set it where she could reach it~ that was your own fault~ I warned you not to set anything down where she could reach it! Mind you she had and still has 50 plus toys to chew and play with but I guess household things tasted so much better!
Then, I'm not sure if my husband lost his fucking mind or what happened to that man but he decided that he knew all about puppies. Not especially pit bulls but HIS puppy! His girl Gypsy!! It didn't matter that I'M HOME with this dog all day...HE knew what was best for HIS pup! He started to lay down the rules and tell me that his pup was going to sleep in our bed now...not her crate. That very night she peed on his pillow and crapped right on the exact spot where his feet hit the ground when he gets out of bed!! I laughed until I cried!! None of us got much sleep that night but I didn't sleep because I kept busting out laughing all night! LOL
I begged him to keep up with her crate training but he said no, she has to learn. I just rolled my eyes and held my breath. After that first night and in the next months after that, she has eaten 14 of hubby's baseball caps, 5 winter stocking caps, 4 zippers on winter jackets. 3 pair of winter boots, two pair of tennis shoes, one pair of leather work boots, countless sleeves off shirts and sweatshirts, countless socks and underwear of his and the dummy still hasn't learned to pick his shit up! Go figure! lol I figured if the dog had to learn to not chew everything up...then he had to learn how to pick up after himself too! Hubby still doesn't appreciate this from me and I really could care less! lol
She has only chewed one pair of my gloves...they sat just a second too long at her level while I went to the bathroom and she destroyed them in 2.5 minutes...
As if learning the lesson wasn't enough for hubby he decided to let her roam the house 'free' when we left for a few hours! I told him he was crazy but he said she needed to learn! I held my breath and shut the door. After all...he knew HIS pup! We came home to no couch. I mean there were springs and the backs of the seats were there, so I suppose I could give her some credit for leaving us SOMETHING but yea, the dam couch was gone! It looked like it snowed inside the house! All the other dogs were hiding in our bedroom...they knew better than to get near mom when shit hits the fan! I let hubby have it that day! I ripped that man up one side and down the other and made him check HIS dogs shit for the next few days to make sure everything came out of her! I was red hot mad, let me tell you! She could have died shredding all that foam, strings and wood!! I got my way and we kennel her whenever we leave now. One lesson learned, dumb ass!
We've lost part of the foot rest of one of the recliners and a computer chair has been her latest obsession but otherwise she's been pretty good about leaving the furniture alone. Now her thing is corners....corners of anything! The coffee table, my sheets, comforters and bed spreads.... nothing else just the corners! Have you ever heard of anything more absurd than that? Every blanket that has ever been on my bed now, have NO corners to them! LOL She will chew on a box but only the corners!
Maybe the dog is as stupid as the hubby eh? Neither one of them know how to learn a dam thing I try to teach them! LOL
And all of this for the love of a pit bull? Yep it's official, I'm crazy! LOL
aw puppies ... i don't envy the work you have cut out for you ... but the end result will be wonderful :)
ReplyDeletecute, but is like Big a says it will be nice :)
ReplyDelete